4 Pillars Of Awakening Inner Peace Through Mindfulness and Meditation

Ancient wisdom teachings have predicted that we’re entering a time when an increasing number of people are awakening to their spiritual nature. Practically speaking, this means that many people are struggling with navigating their lives with the awareness that they’re spiritual beings living stressful human lives.

Folks on this path of consciously awakening embark on their journey to discover and become their true selves in the midst of increasingly distracted and challenging lives, which include relationship struggles, an increase in chronic health issues, and a lack of meaning and purpose.

What are we awakening to?

The Soul's Journey and Soul Hunger.

The wisdom teachings point to the realization that we are awakening to an experience of having a dual nature. The diagram illustrates the journey of awakening to our dual nature and the two forces we must learn to navigate to evolve into our true selves: One is the energy of our conditioned self based on our past, which puts up a lot of resistance and keeps us stuck.

The other energy arises from our soul and is the energy of our becoming and what’s calling us forward.

Before our awakening, the caterpillar, or our conditioned self, gorges on all sorts of information and beliefs that shape who we think we should be. The awakening process requires us to shed who we’ve outgrown and create space for our true selves to emerge.

This process is similar to what a caterpillar goes through when transforming into a butterfly. It requires that we enter the right relationship with our personality and soul. We shift from being energized by our personality (ego) to being inspired by our soul (spirit).

The four pillars of awakening enable us to step into the best version of ourselves and flourish as spiritual beings living stressful human lives. The four pillars include self-mastery, self-love, self-discovery, and self-expression.

Honouring these four pillars ensures that we don’t spiritually bypass the messy aspects of being human, such as our health challenges, relationship struggles, and the like.

The four pillars also enable us to grow beyond the mechanistic view of human beings and create meaning around our challenges by drawing on spiritual wisdom that transcends religious dogma. In the article Embracing The Spiritual But Not Religious Path Of Awakening, I explore why many view themselves as spiritual but not religious.

When we integrate the four pillars of awakening into our lives, we cultivate the inner superpowers of a calm body, clear mind, compassionate heart, and courageous soul—we become the best version of ourselves.

The four pillars of awakening through mindfulness and meditation are:

1. Self-mastery.

The first pillar invites us to learn how to calm our distracted monkey minds, focus our attention on the present moment, and begin to regulate our often dysregulated nervous systems.

Our nervous system knows whether we are feeling safe or stressed. Mindfulness of our inner states at any moment is the foundation for creating inner peace and the rest and repair state that promotes physical, mental, and spiritual health. The American Institute of Stress summarizes Easy Ways to Nourish Your Vagus Nerve to Become More Content.

Without the self-mastery pillar firmly established, progress in exploring and understanding the deeper sense of who we are is impossible.

I also recommend that people start with a simple, core meditation practice that integrates their bodies, minds, and souls. In the blog With SO Many Choices, What’s The Best Practice Meditation For Me? I provide practical tips on where to begin and links to helpful meditation and mindfulness resources.

2. Self-love.

Self-love, which includes self-compassion and forgiveness, is necessary for developing the right relationship with ourselves and, ultimately, inner peace.

We need to learn how to develop wise and compassionate boundaries, clarify our values, hopes, dreams, and needs, and make empowered decisions that align with who we are becoming.

The journey is often challenging as we’re beginning to see our blind spots and take radical responsibility and courageous action in our lives.

The practice of forgiveness is a powerful step towards self-love as we let go of stuck energy that prevents us from stepping into our true selves.

I outline a 6-step forgiveness process and provide helpful resources in the post, Learn How To Forgive To Free Your Heart And Soul And Feel Peaceful.

This process recognizes that while we are spiritual, we are also human beings. It provides a structure and process for forgiveness that begins with telling our story and feeling the hurt and pain that the person or situation triggered in us. It creates space to release the stored energy and emotions that get stuck in our bodies and impact our physical and mental health.

3. Self-discovery.

This pillar requires that we discover who we are beyond our historical, conditioned personality.

It requires learning to discern the difference between thoughts, emotions and actions arising from our conditioned and higher selves.

To be deeply happy and fulfilled, we need to connect with the part of ourselves that represents our true self. Our soul energizes this part and includes a blueprint for who we will become. Much like an acorn, it will become an oak tree.

This pillar involves illuminating the limiting beliefs often imposed on us by our parents, society, spouses, and culture so we can replace them with ones that support self-expression and living authentic lives that feel good to our souls.

The most powerful tool I’ve found for illuminating the self-discovery journey is the Enneagram of personality. With the wisdom of the Enneagram, we bring our gifts, blindspots and growth path into awareness, enabling us to see what’s holding us back from becoming who we’re meant to become. In the article Deepen Your Meditation Practice By Using The Enneagram of Personality, I explain why meditation enriched by the Enneagram is so powerful for awakening your best self.

4. Self-expression.

This pillar ultimately opens us up to navigating our lives from the inside out and tuning in to the higher promptings of our souls and what’s calling us forward. It brings our soul’s energy to our actions and the ways we’re called to be of service and live a purposeful life that extends beyond survival.

The journey of transformation requires that we develop the capacity to use both sides of our brain, cultivate intuition, connect with our gut instincts, and get in the flow of life to be open to synchronicities.

The post 5 Tips To Connect With Your Soul If You’re Feeling Disconnected provides suggestions for cultivating a deeper connection with our higher selves. This enables us to get in the natural flow of life and live an authentic life that feels good to our souls.

Understanding and using the spiritual laws of the universe to manifest what wants to be brought forth through us for the betterment of ourselves and others is when we truly feel like we’re in the flow of life.

Our actions arise from wisdom and are fueled by love.

By integrating the four pillars of awakening and discovering our best selves, we live vital, connected, and deeply meaningful lives.

If you feel called, please comment below. Our community would love to hear from you!